
Best AI Image Extenders in 2026
The best AI image extender is the one that matches a constraint you already have. If you want a custom ratio in the browser and you do not want a subscription, use Photo Extender. If you already pay for Canva, or you already have an Adobe login, stay in that app.
The rows are signup, watermark, custom ratio, and price, taken from each vendor's own site on October 26, 2026. Where a page did not say, the cell says Not stated. We did not run the seven tools on the same photo, so this is not a quality ranking and it is not a speed test.
A tall frame and a wide frame are different files. Extending paints the sides that were never in the shot. Cropping throws the top or the bottom away. The steps for a portrait that has to become landscape, a crop you want back, or a little more background are in those guides. This page only chooses the tool.
A tall frame. A different photograph from the wide one, and not a tool output.
A wide frame. An illustration of the shape, not a result from any tool in the list.
Compare them on the printed facts
"Free without an account" means the page says you can run it before you sign up. If two official pages disagree, both numbers are in the row.
| Tool | Free without an account | Watermark | Custom ratio | Price | Who it's for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Photo Extender | Yes. Free tier available | No | Yes | $9.90 / $29.90 / $49.90 one-time. About $0.20–$0.49 an image. No subscription. | One photo in the browser, no plan |
| Magic Hour | Yes. Free tier available | No, including free | Yes | Creator $19/month, or $12/month billed yearly. Packs from $10 | A free tier, then credits |
| Fotor | Yes. Free tier available | No | Yes | Pro US$8.99/month, or US$3.33/month billed yearly | A free tier before an account |
| Picsart | Free tier available. Account required: Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Pro $15/month, or $10.50/month billed yearly. Ultra: the two pages disagree | Someone already in Picsart |
| ImageHub | Yes. Free tier available | No | Presets only. Freeform: Not stated | Plans listed from $9.99/month, not for sale yet | A free tier in the browser |
| Photoshop / Firefly | No. Account required. Free tier available | Not stated | Yes | Photoshop US$22.99/mo, annual billed monthly | Someone already in Firefly or Photoshop |
| Canva Magic Expand | No. Not on the free plan | Not stated | Yes | Pro US$144/year per person | Someone already designing in Canva |
Photo Extender
Photo Extender is a browser tool for one photo. You upload a JPG, PNG, or WebP up to 4MB, pick a ratio, and download the file. Try it free without signing up — sign in for free daily credits. The download has no watermark. Generation usually takes one to two minutes.
The presets are 1:1, 4:5, 16:9, 9:16, and 21:9, or a custom ratio. Both sides grows left and right. Start grows only the left. End grows only the right.
Paid use is three one-time credit packs: $9.90, $29.90, and $49.90. A successful image works out to about $0.20–$0.49, depending on the pack. There is no subscription. Credits do not expire. A failed generation refunds the credits automatically. Open it on the photo extender.
Magic Hour
Magic Hour's AI Image Expander has a free tier available without an account. There is no watermark, including for free users. Presets are 1:1, 4:5, 16:9, and 9:16, or custom padding on each side. Paid plans unlock 1K and 2K; 2K uses 50 credits an image. Without a plan or a credit pack, commercial use is not included.
USD prices on the billing page match the pricing page: Creator $19 a month or $12 a month billed yearly ($144 a year, 12,000 credits a month); Pro $39 or $25 ($300 a year, 25,000 a month); Business $99 or $66 ($792 a year, 70,000 a month). Packs on the pricing page are $1 = 400 credits: 4,000 for $10, 12,000 for $30, 32,000 for $80, 64,000 for $160. They do not expire, and they do not unlock the higher resolutions.
Fotor
Fotor's AI image extender has a free tier available without an account. The same page says there are no watermarks, and that you can pick ratios from 1:1 to 16:9 or customize your own.
On the pricing page, checked October 26, 2026, Pro is US$8.99 a month, or US$3.33 a month billed yearly (US$39.99 a year). Pro+ is US$19.99 a month, or US$5.24 a month billed yearly (US$62.99 a year). Max is US$39.99 a month, or US$11.19 a month billed yearly (US$134.32 a year).
Picsart
Picsart's AI image extender has a free tier available. Whether an account is required for it is Not stated. More expansions need a subscription. A watermark on the download is Not stated. The how-to on that page says you pick a pre-defined size or drag the edges, and the pricing page lists "Custom dimensions for any edit" as included with every plan. There is also a custom expand prompt if you want to describe the new area.
Pro is the same on both pages: $15 a month, or $10.50 a month billed yearly. Ultra is not. The extender page lists Ultra at $45 a month, or $24.50 a month billed yearly, per seat. The pricing page lists Ultra at $75 a month, or $60 a month billed yearly, per seat. Both pages were live on October 26, 2026. Check the pricing page again before you pay.
ImageHub
ImageHub's extender has a free tier available with no login, and it adds no watermark. Uploads are JPG, JPEG, PNG, or WEBP. The ratios on the tool are 1:1, 4:3, 3:4, 16:9, and 9:16. "Custom Ratio" means one of those presets, then dragging the photo inside the canvas. A ratio you type is Not stated. Original Ratio keeps the source shape and grows it with a slider. Commercial use is allowed. A task run without an account is deleted from active systems within 24 hours.
The paid plans on the pricing page are printed and not for sale. Checkout is closed, so the free tier is the whole product until it opens. When it does, Plus is $9.99 a month or $99 a year, Pro is $19.99 or $199, and Max is $59.99 or $599. Subscriber top-ups are listed at 500 credits for $9.99, 1,500 for $29.99, and 5,000 for $99.99, and those are not for sale yet either.
Photoshop and Firefly Generative Expand
Adobe's Firefly image expander is Generative Expand in the browser. An account is required. A free tier is available once you create a free Adobe ID. You pick a preset ratio or drag the borders, and generate. A watermark is Not stated. Images from Firefly models that are not labeled beta can be used commercially. You can type a prompt for the new area. The ratios it names are 1:1, 9:16, and 16:9.
The same feature name sits in Photoshop: drag the crop past the current edges and generate into the new canvas. On Adobe's Photoshop page for the United States, checked October 26, 2026, Photoshop is US$22.99 a month on the annual plan billed monthly, and that plan lists 25 monthly generative credits. Creative Cloud Pro is US$69.99 a month on the annual plan billed monthly, or US$34.99 a month for the first 3 months. Use it when the expand has to stay next to the rest of an Adobe edit.
Canva Magic Expand
Canva's image expander is Magic Expand. You choose a size, an aspect ratio, or a freeform area. The page says it is available to Pro and Teams, and to Nonprofit and Education accounts. It is not on the free plan. A watermark is Not stated. The upgrade article says Teams is no longer open to new sign-ups, and that Pro and Business include Expand.
On the United States pricing page, checked October 26, 2026, Pro is US$144 a year per person and Business is US$250 a year per person. Use Magic Expand when the photo is already in a Canva file and the account is already Pro or Business.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best AI image extender if I do not want an account?
Photo Extender, Magic Hour, Fotor, and ImageHub each have a free tier available without an account. Photo Extender: try it free without signing up — sign in for free daily credits. Picsart has a free tier available; whether an account is required is Not stated. Firefly requires an account, and a free tier is available after you create one. Canva Magic Expand is not on the free plan.
Which of these tools can use a custom ratio?
Photo Extender takes 1:1, 4:5, 16:9, 9:16, 21:9, or a custom ratio, and can grow Both sides, Start, or End. Magic Hour, Fotor, Picsart, Firefly, and Canva each offer a preset plus a custom or freeform control. ImageHub lists 1:1, 4:3, 3:4, 16:9, and 9:16. A typed ratio there is Not stated.
Do these extenders add a watermark?
Photo Extender, Magic Hour, Fotor, and ImageHub each say there is no watermark. Magic Hour includes free users. Picsart, Firefly, and Canva do not say, so those are Not stated.
Is Photoshop required to extend a photo?
No. Firefly and Photoshop do this if you already have an Adobe account. The browser tools do it too. Open Photoshop when the expand has to stay in a layered file. A portrait that needs both sides wider is the portrait-to-landscape conversion. A file cropped too tight is an uncrop.
What if I only need a few images and I do not want a subscription?
Photo Extender's packs are $9.90, $29.90, and $49.90, about $0.20–$0.49 an image, with no subscription, no expiry, and a refund when a generation fails. Magic Hour's packs are $10, $30, $80, and $160, and a pack does not unlock higher resolutions. Fotor Pro is US$8.99 a month, or US$3.33 a month billed yearly. ImageHub's plans are not for sale, so the free tier is the offer. Canva Pro is US$144 a year per person. Picsart Pro is $15 a month, or $10.50 a month billed yearly.
Extend one photo, without a subscription
JPG, PNG, or WebP up to 4MB. Set 1:1, 4:5, 16:9, 9:16, 21:9, or a custom ratio. Try it free without signing up — sign in for free daily credits. The download has no watermark.
Open the photo extender →